Home     Daily Blog     Galleries     About Me     Links     Recommended Books

Wednesday, February 9, 2011

Former Capitals of Tennessee markers

To my knowledge, there are three places in Tennessee that have markers commemorating their place as a former state capital.

In 1949, the state government decided to place markers around the state for all the locations where the state capital was located before Nashville.

Knoxville was the first Capital, and here is its marker:

Knoxville, Capital of Tennessee Marker

The side of this marker mentions Gov. Browning and the 76th General Assembly who made it happen.

Marker #2 is in Kingston and I don't have a photo of it available right now. We'll move on to #3

Monument: Murfreesboro as TN State Capital

Murfreesboro was the state Capital from 1818 to 1826.

No comments:

Post a Comment